top of page

Things You Should Really Never Say To Your Designer


A lot of Left Brainers, simply do not understand us creatives. When I finally accepted this my life became much easier.

Many of the things these folks pop off are not meant offensively, they just can't equate what a designer does in numbers, or make sense of it in any format that equates with income.

The left side of the brain is responsible for controlling the right side of the body. It also performs tasks that have to do with logic, such as in science and mathematics.

On the other hand, the right hemisphere coordinates the left side of the body, and performs tasks that have do with creativity and the arts.

Left Brainers are quite fun to work with actually because you can always surprise them! Even my own dad has absolutely no idea how I make a living. . . and that's okay.

Believe it or not . . . after nearly 30 years creating for pay, I've heard almost everything, I used to get put out, or acquiesce to every whim, but I've learned a lot in 30 years at the drawing board . . . and feel I have achieved ZEN.

Still, occasionally, someone says something that really goes beyond the scope of acceptability and is definitely an insult to the creative profession; the kind of remark that elicits the inevitable eye-roll, sets off that bristle at the back of the neck or just simply pushes integrity to the limit,

Let me just share a few. Please feel free to replace "Designer" with your "Profession" to see exactly what I mean.

“Say, why don’t you just do this one for free; it’ll look good in your <designer> portfolio.”

A classic! The presumption that I'm desperate for work.

Please try inserting < plumber> for designer! Can you hear his big booming laugh as he throws his tools into the back of his truck?

Here is where a smile and an upfront but polite explanation of how I must prioritize paid work (because I'm broke of course) is my response of choice.

I then move the conversation to talk about a recent project with a big client, demonstrating that I am actually in demand, have options, and may not actually be a starving artist.

I end with a great, big, thank you very much, and revel in the confused or contemplative look that I get.

“<Designers> just draw pictures, right?”

I try not to get defensive . . . because I do, in fact, draw pictures. So I lead with a joke and have a laugh, but as the giggles fade, I throw in some hard facts about the benefits of good branding.

For instance, did you know that 77% (they like numbers, remember that) of consumers make purchasing decisions because of the brand? (Source: crowdspring)

“I could do this myself, so it won’t take you <designer> that long.”

I tell them to do it themselves then . . .but nicely.

This is where I offer to consult at double the hourly rate, because I know they'll be back, and half of every original hour that was quoted, will be spent fixing what they did wrong.

“I like it, but could you <designer> make it ‘pop’?”

This questions is nearly always my own darn fault. I get lazy, friendly and comfortable with people . . . too much so, and don't always do an official creative brief.

It frequently comes back to bite me!

Design can be so subjective, finding out exactly what your client wants can be challenging. So, I ask more questions and go back to the drawing board!

After all, it is my job as a designer to dig out the reasons why a client isn’t satisfied, and I'm proud to say I've never not been paid or had a dissatisfied client in nearly 30 years.

On that rare occassion when I can tell we just aren't a good fit, I always attempt to help them find someone who can fulfill their needs, preferably a colleague in the field who will eventually return the favor one day. We are good like that!

“<Designer> we want an identity just like this company…”

Well, I'm not a copy artist, (by the way, you can hire them much more cheaply.)

Creating an identity or logo for a new business is one of THE most important branding measures, and also one of the most time-consuming.

You can't just slap a face on it and make it work.

I like to explain to clients that they will forever be chasing the competition if they don't set themselves apart in the beginning. You really don't want to be the red-labled "other" soup just to challenge Campbells!

As a Texas-based designer, I've branded over 27 different salsas, and making each one unique and different takes a lot of collaborative research into the brand's goals and audience, where it's sold and how, what the company/client values and purpose are . . . and all this must be captured by a little logo and savvy branding.

“We can’t pay you <designer> until we’re happy with the logo you create.”

Oh Yes You Can!

Not paying until satisfied is called working on comp . . . what students in their freshman year might do to make that "Portfolio" look nice.

This common remark is easily avoidable with a well-worded, signed estimate, so I don't often hear it anymore. I always provide an explanation of exactly how the entire process works. Oh and deposits are a necessary thing . . . designers must eat too.

“That’s too expensive. My 13-year-old nephew wants to be a <designer> and has the software. Send me the files and he’ll do it.”

Heavy Sigh!

So I smile and politely decline to help.

Yes, it's uncomfortable saying NO to someone who doesn't respect my level and breadth of skills and expertise, but this classic "RED FLAG" is one I avoid at all costs.

To maintain professionalism and so as not to burn any bridges, I point the client in the direction of a stock template site, content management system or some other helpful online resource. . . . sometimes they come back! LOL!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page